Compare
An alternative to Mindbody for small UK studios.
BookBookNow is a booking site for small UK studios that sell single classes and appointments, with a price published for every plan and a free plan with no monthly fee, where card payments we collect carry a commission. It does not replace Mindbody's memberships, point of sale, branded app, staff schedules or multi-site controls – if your studio depends on those, stay with Mindbody.
Stay with Mindbody if your studio runs on these
This page is for a studio at one location that takes class bookings and card payments online. Mindbody does a lot more than that, and some of it BookBookNow does not do at all. If any of these carry your business, moving would take something away:
- Recurring memberships. Mindbody describes "automatic recurring membership charges". We do not sell memberships, class packs or passes: each booking is one class or appointment, paid as it is booked.
- Selling at the desk. Mindbody lists point of sale on every plan. We have no card reader or till.
- Staff schedules, rooms and spots. Mindbody staff can update their own schedules, and higher plans add rooms, resources and Pick-a-Spot. A BookBookNow site has one calendar, and clients cannot choose a teacher, room or spot.
- Several locations. Mindbody prices per location. We run one site per account.
- Texts and a branded app. Mindbody sends text reminders from Accelerate up and offers a branded app as an add-on. We send email only and have no app.
- Clients from a marketplace. Mindbody lists you in its consumer app. We have no marketplace: clients find you through your own site and links.
If your studio is mostly drop-in classes, workshops or one-to-one sessions paid one at a time, a smaller booking site can be enough.
Mindbody and BookBookNow side by side
| BookBookNow | Mindbody | |
|---|---|---|
| Published price | Starter £15.00 a month + tax; Studio £29.00 a month + tax; Pro £49.00 a month + tax | "Starting at £89/month per location" |
| Price of each plan | Shown on our pricing page | Starter, Accelerate and Ultimate each show "Let's talk" |
| Tax | Before tax; UK businesses add VAT at 20% | VAT basis not stated |
| Paying yearly | Available on paid plans, chosen at sign-up | Not listed |
| Free plan | Yes – Free: no monthly fee; card payments we collect cost 6.5% + 20p* each | Not listed |
| Trial | 14-day free trial on paid plans, card taken at sign-up; no card needed on Free | Not listed; a demo with their team is offered |
| Setup fee | None | "There's no setup fee on any Mindbody plan." |
| Leaving | Move to Free or close your site from your admin; a move to Free takes effect at the end of the period you paid for | Depends on your plan and billing terms; may need advance notice |
| Logins | Free 1, Starter 1, Studio 3, Pro 10 | Unlimited users per location |
| Marketplace fee | No marketplace | 20% of a new client's first purchase through the Mindbody app, capped at 30 in local currency |
| Card processing | On paid plans, your own Stripe account (Stripe's fees, no commission from us); on every plan, we collect for a commission – see below | Mindbody Payments or another provider; rate depends on plan, not published |
| Classes | Yes | Yes |
| Appointments | Yes, on one calendar for the whole site | Yes |
| Waitlist | On Studio and Pro | Yes; plan not stated |
| Memberships and recurring charges | No | Yes |
| Class packs or passes | No | Not listed |
| Staff schedules | No – team logins only, one calendar | Yes |
| Rooms, resources and Pick-a-Spot | No | Accelerate and Ultimate |
| Several locations | No | Yes, priced per location |
| Reminders | Email, on every plan | Automated email reminders (plan not stated on the scheduling page); text from Accelerate |
| Deposits or part payments | No – the full price is paid at booking | Not listed |
| Point of sale | No | Every plan |
| App for clients | No app; tickets open on the phone | Mindbody app listing on every plan; branded app an add-on on Accelerate and Ultimate |
| Website | A booking site on every plan; your own domain: On Starter, Studio and Pro | A customised website on every plan (for eligible customers), on a domain Mindbody buys for you or your own domain connected |
| Check-in at the door | Scan QR tickets from a phone: On Starter, Studio and Pro | Check-In app, Mindbody app or a self check-in screen |
| Moving your data in | Client import from a CSV file: On Studio and Pro | Data migration support when you join |
Mindbody figures are quoted from its UK pricing and scheduling pages as viewed from the UK on 14 September 2026; its page notes that not all features are available in all regions or on all tiers. "Not listed" means we could not find it on those pages, not that it does not exist. Card processing fees are not included on either side. Mindbody is a trade mark of its owner; BookBookNow is not affiliated with or endorsed by Mindbody. Report an error to bookings@bookbooknow.com and we reply within 5 working days.
Putting the prices side by side
Mindbody's "Starting at £89/month per location" is where its prices begin; the page does not say which plan that buys or whether VAT is on top. To compare fairly, ask Mindbody for a written quote that states the VAT, the contract length and the card processing rate, and set it beside our monthly prices in the table above. Mindbody publishes no yearly price, so we compare monthly with monthly, although our plans can also be paid yearly. If you are used to waitlists, reports and logins for your team, our nearest plan is Studio.
Card fees come on top of either subscription. We offer two ways to take cards:
Your own Stripe account
Paid straight into your Stripe account.
Connect the Stripe account you have, or open one through us. Clients pay by card when they book and the money settles in your Stripe account on Stripe's payout schedule. BookBookNow takes no commission; Stripe's own card fees apply.
On Starter, Studio and Pro
We collect for you
No Stripe account needed.
BookBookNow collects the card payment for you and pays it out to your bank on request, after a short hold. Our commission includes Stripe's fee for standard UK cards; a dearer card adds Stripe's extra fee at cost. Commission per payment: Free 6.5% + 20p*, Starter 5% + 20p*, Studio 3% + 20p*, Pro 2% + 20p*.
On every plan · in GBP, USD or EUR
Moving your clients across
- Check your notice period first. Find the cancellation terms in your Mindbody agreement and work back from that date, so you are not paying for both for longer than you need.
- Set up your timetable. Add each class once with its day, time, capacity and price, and it repeats for 1 to 52 weeks ahead. Appointments use your weekly hours, with buffers and minimum notice.
- Export your client list. Download your clients from your current system as a CSV file. If you cannot find the export, ask their support team how.
- Import it. Upload the file (up to 5 MB), match the columns, check a preview of the first 20 rows and import. Clients are matched by email, blanks are filled without overwriting, and you can set marketing consent for the whole file or per row. Nobody is emailed. On Studio and Pro
- Honour what clients have already paid for. Past bookings, memberships and passes do not come across. For someone with classes left on a pass, book them in yourself and mark the booking as paid.
- Tell your clients. Send your new booking link from your own email tool, or use our email broadcasts to reach clients who agreed to hear from you. On Pro
Run both systems for a week or two: leave bookings already made on Mindbody where they are, and send new bookings to your BookBookNow site.
Is BookBookNow right for your studio?
A good fit if
- You run one studio, room or hall, alone or with a small team
- Clients pay for each class, workshop or appointment when they book
- You want to see every plan's price before you speak to anyone
- You would rather clients book on your own site than through a marketplace app
Not the right fit yet if
- Anything on the "Stay with Mindbody" list at the top of this page carries your business
- Several teachers take appointments at the same time: the site has one calendar, so a booking of any service blocks that time for every other service
- Clients need to pay a deposit, pay on arrival or book a whole course or term in one checkout
- You rely on two-way calendar sync, Zoom meetings created for you, a public API or booking pages in a language other than English
How to verify this comparison
We compared Mindbody's UK pricing and scheduling pages, viewed from the UK on 14 September 2026, with BookBookNow's plans for one studio at one location taking class bookings and card payments; Mindbody publishes only a monthly starting price per location in GBP, VAT basis not stated, with each plan quoted after a call, so it sits beside our monthly prices in GBP before tax, card processing fees excluded on both sides.
"Not listed" means we could not find it on the provider's public pages on the date checked; it may still exist. Our own prices come from our pricing page. Spotted something out of date? Email bookings@bookbooknow.com and we will check it and reply within 5 working days.
- Mindbody – Customized Websites (UK) – a customised website included in every plan for eligible customers; Mindbody buys one domain per customer or connects your own (checked 14 September 2026)
- Mindbody – Business pricing (UK) – "Starting at £89/month per location", tiers shown as "Let's talk", no VAT basis stated, no setup fee, contract and cancellation answer, unlimited users, the Mindbody app fee, payments, memberships, Pick-a-Spot, email and text reminders, branded app, data migration (checked 14 September 2026)
- Mindbody – Scheduling (UK) – classes and appointments on one schedule, waitlists, staff updating their own schedules, check-in options (checked 14 September 2026)
Questions
How much does Mindbody cost per month in the UK?
Mindbody's UK pricing page says "Starting at £89/month per location" and shows "Let's talk" against each plan – Starter, Accelerate and Ultimate – so the price for your studio comes from a call with their team. The page does not say whether VAT is included. We read it on 14 September 2026; check the page itself for the current figure.
Is there a free alternative to Mindbody?
BookBookNow has a Free plan with no monthly fee. It takes class and appointment bookings and card payments, and we charge a commission on each card payment we collect for you. It does not do memberships, point of sale, staff schedules or a client app, so it only replaces Mindbody for a studio that does not need those.
Can I import my client list from Mindbody?
Yes, from a spreadsheet. If you can download your client list from Mindbody as a CSV file (ask Mindbody's support team if you cannot find the export), import it on Studio or Pro. Clients are matched by email and nobody is emailed; the steps are under "Moving your clients across" on this page. Past bookings, memberships and payment history do not come across.
Am I tied into a contract if I want to leave Mindbody?
Mindbody's pricing page says it "depends on your plan and billing terms, including any promotions you signed up for", and that cancelling "may require advance notice based on your agreement". Your own agreement has the answer, so read it for the notice period before you pick a date to move.
Does BookBookNow charge a fee for new clients like the Mindbody app does?
No. We do not run a marketplace, so there is no fee for new clients – and no app sending clients to you either. People book on your own booking site. On a paid plan with your own Stripe account we take no commission on card payments; when we collect payments for you, our commission applies to each one.
* The commission includes Stripe's fee for standard UK cards. Stripe charges more for some cards – about +1.3% for premium and business UK cards, +1% for European cards and +1.65% for other international cards, plus 2% when Stripe converts the payment from another currency – and we add that difference at cost, shown against each payment.
Start free today.
No card needed on the Free plan. Paid plans from £12.50 a month + tax, billed yearly (£150.00 + tax a year), or £15.00 a month + tax paid monthly, with a 14-day free trial.
Prices are in GBP, before tax. Tax is added at checkout for where your business is: UK businesses pay VAT at 20%, which a VAT-registered business can usually reclaim.