BookBookNow

Compare

What booking software costs, from the providers' own pages.

We read the public pricing pages of 12 booking tools used by UK classes, studios and practitioners on 14 September 2026 and set their entry prices, free plans, commissions and card fees beside ours. Three price in US dollars, two only give a price on request and most do not say whether VAT is included, so every figure is quoted exactly as the provider shows it.

The use case behind these tables

A small UK business taking bookings online and card payments: a teacher or studio running classes, or a practitioner taking appointments, with one location. For each provider we list the lowest-priced paid plan that takes online bookings, and name the higher plan where classes or a waitlist start there. We quote prices exactly as each provider publishes them, in their currency and on their tax basis, and we do not convert US dollars.

The total you pay each month is rarely the plan price alone. It is the plan price, plus card fees on every payment, plus any charge per user, location or active customer, and VAT on top if your business cannot reclaim it. The worked examples further down add those up for three kinds of business.

Plans and prices, as published

Entry paid plans, yearly billing, tax basis and free plans, checked 14 September 2026
Entry paid plan, billed monthlyYearly billingTax basisFree plan
BookBookNowStarter: £15.00 a month + taxYes: £150.00 a year + tax (2 months free)+ tax: UK businesses pay VAT at 20%Yes: no monthly fee; card payments we collect cost 6.5% + 20p* each; up to 5 services and classes, one admin user, up to 300 emails a month
Acuity SchedulingStarter: $20 / month, 1 calendar$16 / month billed annually ("Save 20%")USD; "Prices do not include applicable taxes"None; 7-day trial, no credit card needed
BookwhenLite: £12 + £2.40 VAT per month; 300 bookings a month, 2 team members£120 + £24 VAT a year ("2 months free")VAT shown beside each priceYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 team member, free events only
CalendlyStandard: £10 per seat a month£8 per seat a month billed yearlyGBP set in the page's price data; VAT basis not statedYes: one event type, one-on-one scheduling
FreshaIndependent: £14.95 per month, 1 team member (Team: £9.95 per team member)Not listed"Rates are exclusive of 20.0% sales tax"Not listed; 7-day trial
GlofoxPrice not published, quote requiredNot listedNot listedNot listed
Mindbody"Starting at £89/month per location"; every tier shows "Let's talk"Not listedVAT basis not statedNot listed; demo on request
MomencePrice not published, quote required ("Let's talk pricing")Not listedNot listedNot listed; free trial offered, length not stated
PunchpassGrow: $59 billed monthly$623 billed annually (12% discount)USD; VAT basis not statedNot listed; 14-day trial, no credit card required
SetmorePro: $12 per user a month; each staff calendar counts as a user$5 per user a month on annual pricingUSD; VAT basis not statedYes: up to 4 users
SimplyBook.meBasic: £12.9 per month; 100 bookings, 5 providers£10.9 per month billed annually ("Save 17%")VAT basis not statedYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 provider
Square AppointmentsPlus: £29 per month per location, where class booking and waitlist startNot listedVAT basis not statedYes: £0 for a single location, without class booking
TeamUp£99 a month up to 100 active customers, rising in steps to £299 above 500Not listedGBP chosen on the page; VAT basis not statedNot listed; "Try it Free"

Checked 14 September 2026 on each provider's public pricing page, viewed from the UK. "Not listed" means we did not find it on that page that day; it may still exist, so check with the provider. Prices exclude card processing, shown in the next table. Promotions are left out of the table: Punchpass offers new clients their first two months at half price, and Bookwhen offers charities and non-profits 20% off.

Commission, card fees and terms

A commission is a share of each payment kept by the booking provider. Card fees are what the payment processor charges to take the card. Some providers set both, some neither.

Commission, online card fees and contract terms, checked 14 September 2026
Commission from the providerOnline card feesContract and notice
BookBookNowNone when clients pay into your own Stripe account (on Starter, Studio and Pro). When we collect for you: Free 6.5% + 20p*, Starter 5% + 20p*, Studio 3% + 20p*, Pro 2% + 20p*Your own Stripe account: Stripe's fees. When we collect: Stripe's fee for standard UK cards is inside the commission, and a dearer card adds Stripe's extra fee at costMonthly or yearly plan; a yearly plan is not refunded if you cancel during the year; a move to Free waits for the end of the paid period; 30 days' notice before a price rise
Acuity SchedulingNone listed: "no unexpected fees"Set by the provider you connect (Stripe, Square, PayPal, Venmo); not published by AcuityNo set-up or cancellation fees; cancel at any time
BookwhenNone: "Your plan price is your only Bookwhen subscription cost"Bookwhen x Stripe: 1.50% + £0.20 standard UK cards, 2.80% + £0.20 premium UK cardsNo minimum term, no notice period, no cancellation fee
CalendlyNone listedThrough your own Stripe or PayPal account, on Standard and above; rates not on Calendly's pageRenews for the same period "unless you downgrade your plan before your renewal date"
Fresha20% one-time commission, minimum £4, on brand-new clients from the Fresha marketplace only1.40% + £0.25 per online transactionNo minimum commitment or long-term contract
GlofoxNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Mindbody20%, capped at 30 in local currency, on a new client's first purchase through the Mindbody appWith Mindbody Payments, a rate based on your plan; not publishedDepends on your agreement; cancelling may require advance notice
MomenceNot publishedNot publishedNot published
PunchpassNone beyond the monthly subscriptionStripe's fee per successful card paymentMonth-to-month; cancel at any time
SetmoreNone listedThrough Square, Stripe, PayPal or LawPay; rates not on Setmore's pageCancel at any time; Pro refund on request within 30 days
SimplyBook.meNone: "does not charge additional transaction fees"Your payment processor's own feesNo cancellation fees and no long-term contracts
Square AppointmentsNone listed1.4% + 25p for UK cards, 2.5% + 25p for non-UK cardsNo long-term commitments required
TeamUpNone listedNot published on its pricing pageNo set-up fee; month-to-month, no contract

Checked 14 September 2026. BookBookNow's commission includes VAT for UK businesses. Card rates for the other providers are the ones they publish; where a tool uses your own Stripe account, Stripe's published UK rate is 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards.

Three worked examples, per month

Three businesses with their inputs stated. Every payment is by a standard UK card (premium, business and overseas cards can cost more), billing is monthly, card fees are each provider's published rate or Stripe's 1.5% + 20p where a tool uses your own Stripe account, and tax is shown as each provider shows it. US dollars are not added to pounds, and no client comes through a marketplace.

A solo yoga teacher: 60 paid bookings at £10

Three classes a week in a hired hall, about 60 paid bookings a month at £10 each (£600 taken), one teacher, no waitlist needed.

Example A: 60 bookings at £10 a month
Plan usedPlan priceCard fees and commissionMonthly total
BookBookNow Free, we collect paymentsNo monthly fee£51.00 commission (6.5% + 20p*)£51.00
BookBookNow Starter, your own Stripe account£15.00 + tax£21.00 Stripe fees£36.00 + tax on the plan price
Bookwhen Lite (waiting list starts on Standard)£12 + £2.40 VAT£21.00 (Bookwhen x Stripe, 1.50% + £0.20)£33.00 + £2.40 VAT
SimplyBook.me Basic (the free plan stops at 50 bookings)£12.9£21.00 with Stripe£33.90; VAT basis not stated
Square Appointments Plus (class booking starts here)£29 per location£23.40 (1.4% + 25p)£52.40; VAT basis not stated
Punchpass Grow$59£21.00 with StripeNot added up: $59 plus £21.00
Setmore Free (group classes and online payments listed on Free)$0£21.00 with Stripe£21.00

Bookwhen Lite comes to £3.00 a month less than Starter with your own Stripe account, before tax on either plan. Our Free plan has no monthly fee, but its commission grows with every payment. At £10 a booking, and with VAT at 20% added to the plan price, as it is for a teacher who is not VAT-registered, Starter with your own Stripe account costs less once you pass 36 paid bookings a month. Below that, Free costs less and needs no Stripe account. Setmore's free plan, which lists group classes and online payments, comes to £21.00 in card fees alone, less than any BookBookNow plan in this example.

A pilates studio: 300 bookings at £20, with a waitlist

One room, twelve classes a week, about 300 paid bookings a month at £20 each (£6,000 taken) from around 150 different clients, and a waitlist for the busy evening classes.

Example B: 300 bookings at £20 a month, with a waitlist
Plan usedPlan priceCard fees and commissionMonthly total
BookBookNow Studio, your own Stripe account£29.00 + tax£150.00 Stripe fees£179.00 + tax on the plan price
BookBookNow Studio, we collect payments£29.00 + tax£240.00 commission (3% + 20p*)£269.00 + tax on the plan price
Bookwhen Standard (waiting list, 800 bookings a month)£19 + £3.80 VAT£150.00 (Bookwhen x Stripe, 1.50% + £0.20)£169.00 + £3.80 VAT
Square Appointments Plus (class booking and waitlist)£29 per location£159.00 (1.4% + 25p)£188.00; VAT basis not stated
TeamUp, 101 to 200 active customers£139Not published on its pricing page£139 plus card fees; VAT basis not stated
Punchpass Grow (waitlists included)$59£150.00 with StripeNot added up: $59 plus £150.00
MindbodyStarting at £89/month per locationRate not publishedFrom £89 plus card fees
Momence, GlofoxQuote requiredNot publishedNot published

Bookwhen Standard comes to £10.00 a month less than Studio with your own Stripe account before VAT, and £12.00 less once VAT at 20% is added to both plan prices, which matters if your studio is not VAT-registered. Bookwhen Standard also includes memberships and passes, which we do not offer. Letting us collect payments on Studio costs £90.00 a month more than your own Stripe account here (the commission includes VAT, which a VAT-registered studio can usually reclaim); in return there is no Stripe account to set up, and payouts come to your bank when you ask for them.

A massage therapist: 80 appointments at £50

One practitioner and one treatment room, about 80 appointments a month at £50 each (£4,000 taken), paid online when booked.

Example C: 80 appointments at £50 a month
Plan usedPlan priceCard fees and commissionMonthly total
BookBookNow Starter, your own Stripe account£15.00 + tax£76.00 Stripe fees£91.00 + tax on the plan price
BookBookNow Free, we collect paymentsNo monthly fee£276.00 commission (6.5% + 20p*)£276.00
Square Appointments Free (single location)£0£76.00 (1.4% + 25p)£76.00; VAT basis not stated
Setmore Free (up to 4 users)$0£76.00 with Stripe£76.00
Calendly Standard, 1 seat (payments start on Standard)£10£76.00 with Stripe£86.00; VAT basis not stated
SimplyBook.me Basic (100 bookings a month)£12.9£76.00 with Stripe£88.90; VAT basis not stated
Fresha Independent£14.95£76.00 (1.40% + £0.25)£90.95, exclusive of 20% sales tax
Acuity Scheduling Starter, 1 calendar$20£76.00 with StripeNot added up: $20 plus £76.00

Square Appointments and Setmore, on their free plans, cost less than any BookBookNow plan in this example: they are built for appointments, charge no plan price for one practitioner, and card fees on a £50 payment come to about the same with each of them. Our Free plan costs the most of our options here, because a percentage commission weighs more on a £50 payment than on a £10 one. If your business is mostly one-to-one appointments at higher prices, a plan price with your own Stripe account costs less than a percentage commission at these amounts.

What a lower price may not include

A price only compares fairly when the plan does the job. Before choosing on price, check whether you need any of the features below. BookBookNow does not do most of them yet; many of the tools compared here offer at least some, often on higher plans or as paid add-ons, and their own pricing and feature pages – linked in the sources below – say which plans include them.

  • A waitlist – ours is on studio and pro: a freed place is offered by email and held for 12 hours.
  • Memberships, passes or class packs – not built: each booking is paid for when it is made.
  • Calendars for several staff or rooms – not built: one calendar per site.
  • Text reminders – not built: reminders go by email.
  • Card readers and in-person payments – not built.
  • Deposits – not built: the full price is paid when booking.
  • An app for clients – not built: clients book in their browser.

When another tool will suit you better

If your studio runs on memberships or class passes, if clients book a named therapist or stylist, or if you take payments at a desk with a card reader, choose a tool built for that: several of the providers compared here describe those features on their own pages, linked in the sources below, and we do not offer them. And if you want to appear on a booking marketplace, Fresha and Mindbody run one, each with the new-client commission shown above.

A good fit if

  • You sell single classes, workshops, events or appointments, paid when booked
  • You want to start with no monthly fee, paying a commission on card payments we collect, and move to a plan as your takings grow
  • You want your own booking site, and later your own domain, rather than a marketplace listing

Not the right fit yet if

  • Your income depends on memberships, passes or class packs
  • Clients need to book a particular practitioner, room or spot
  • You need card readers, text reminders or an app for clients

Work out your own monthly cost

  1. Count your paid bookings in a typical month and your average price per booking.
  2. Find the lowest plan on each tool that has what you need: classes, a waitlist, enough bookings, users, calendars or locations.
  3. Add card fees: bookings × (price × the percentage + the fixed fee). Add any commission the same way.
  4. Add anything that grows with you: per user, per seat, per location, per active customer, or extra bookings above a cap.
  5. If your business is not VAT-registered, add VAT to every subscription quoted before tax, and check which currency you will be billed in.
  6. Compare monthly prices with monthly prices and yearly with yearly, and check the source link below on the day you decide.

Switching from another tool? You can import your clients from a CSV file (On Studio and Pro). Past bookings and history do not come across, and nobody is emailed during the import.

How to verify this comparison

We compared each provider's lowest-priced published paid plan that takes online bookings (and the plan a class business would need where classes or waitlists sit on a higher tier), with its free plan, on monthly billing and with the yearly price where one is published, in the currency and on the tax basis each provider shows, read from their public pricing pages from a UK IP address on 14 September 2026; card fees are those the provider publishes, and Stripe's standard UK rate where a tool uses your own Stripe account.

"Not listed" means we could not find it on the provider's public pages on the date checked; it may still exist. Our own prices come from our pricing page. Spotted something out of date? Email bookings@bookbooknow.com and we will check it and reply within 5 working days.

  1. Acuity Scheduling – pricing – Starter $20 a month billed monthly or $16 billed annually, 1 calendar; USD; taxes not included; 7-day trial; no free plan; no set-up or cancellation fees; text reminders, appointment waitlist and memberships and packages on Standard; "Accept payments and deposits through Stripe, Square, PayPal, or Venmo" on every plan (checked 14 September 2026)
  2. Bookwhen – pricing – Free plan limits; Lite £12 + £2.40 VAT for 300 bookings a month; Standard £19 + £3.80 VAT with waiting list, memberships and passes; yearly prices; no minimum term; "Your plan price is your only Bookwhen subscription cost" (checked 14 September 2026)
  3. Bookwhen – Bookwhen x Stripe fees – Standard UK cards 1.50% + £0.20 and premium UK cards 2.80% + £0.20 through Bookwhen x Stripe (checked 14 September 2026)
  4. Calendly – pricing – Free plan with one event type; Standard £10 per seat a month billed monthly or £8 billed yearly (GBP price data on the page); payment links for deposits and meeting packages from Standard; seats needed to connect calendars (checked 14 September 2026)
  5. Fresha – pricing (UK) – Independent £14.95 per month; Team £9.95 per team member; rates exclusive of 20.0% sales tax; online payments 1.40% + £0.25; 20% one-time marketplace commission, minimum £4; no long-term contract; waitlists, packages, memberships, client booking app, in-person payments 1.19% + £0.20, 20 free messages then £0.06 per text; deposits with Fresha payments (checked 14 September 2026)
  6. Glofox – pricing – A price quote form; no prices published (checked 14 September 2026)
  7. Mindbody – pricing (UK) – Starting at £89/month per location; tiers show "Let's talk"; no set-up fee; marketplace fee 20% capped at 30 in local currency on a new client's first purchase; VAT not mentioned; reminders by email and text on Accelerate and above; point of sale; recurring membership charges with Mindbody Payments; branded app as an add-on (checked 14 September 2026)
  8. Momence – pricing – "Let's talk pricing"; no prices published (checked 14 September 2026)
  9. Punchpass – pricing – Grow $59 billed monthly or $623 billed annually, USD; 14-day trial; half-price first two months for new clients; no Punchpass fee beyond the subscription; month-to-month; waitlists and passes on Grow, recurring memberships from Flow; iOS app and a mobile app (PWA) for customers (checked 14 September 2026)
  10. Setmore – pricing – Free for up to 4 users; Pro $12 per user a month billed monthly or $5 billed annually, USD; each staff calendar counts as a user; group classes, online and in-person payments and Tap to Pay on Free and Pro; SMS reminders and deposits on Pro; branded mobile app on both (checked 14 September 2026)
  11. SimplyBook.me – pricing – Free 50 bookings a month, 1 provider; Basic £12.9 billed monthly or £10.9 billed annually, 100 bookings; Standard £25 or £20.8, 500 bookings; no transaction fees from SimplyBook.me; no long-term contracts; Client App, payments, deposits, tips and Sales (POS) on the Basic card; memberships as a premium custom feature; SMS credits sold separately (checked 14 September 2026)
  12. Square Appointments – pricing (UK) – Free £0 for a single location; Plus £29 per month per location with class booking and waitlist; online 1.4% + 25p for UK cards; in person 1.75% on Free, 1.6% on Plus and Premium; text and email reminders on every plan; no long-term commitments (checked 14 September 2026)
  13. TeamUp – pricing – GBP prices by active customers a month: £99 up to 100, £139 up to 200, £179 up to 300, £209 up to 400, £249 up to 500, £299 above; no set-up fee; no contract; memberships and packs, in-person payments, point of sale and SMS notifications included; Custom Branded App priced separately (checked 14 September 2026)
  14. Stripe – UK pricing – 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards, used in the worked examples where a tool takes payments through your own Stripe account (checked 14 September 2026)

Questions

How much does booking software cost per month in the UK?

On the pricing pages we read on 14 September 2026, the entry paid plans that take online bookings started at £10 per seat a month for Calendly Standard billed monthly, £12 + £2.40 VAT for Bookwhen Lite, £12.9 for SimplyBook.me and £14.95 ex VAT for Fresha Independent. Square Appointments Plus, which adds class booking, is £29 per month per location, Mindbody starts at £89/month per location and TeamUp starts at £99 a month for up to 100 active customers. Momence and Glofox give prices on request, and Acuity Scheduling, Setmore and Punchpass price in US dollars. Card fees come on top of almost all of these, so work out a monthly total at your own number of bookings.

Which booking systems have a free plan for paid classes?

Of the tools we checked, Bookwhen's free plan is for free events only, with 50 bookings a month. Setmore's free plan, for up to 4 users, lists group classes and online payments. SimplyBook.me's free plan allows 50 bookings a month for one provider, with payments listed from its Basic plan. Square Appointments lists class booking from its Plus plan, and Calendly's free plan covers one-on-one scheduling. BookBookNow's Free plan has no monthly fee and includes classes; card payments we collect for you cost 6.5% + 20p each, including Stripe's fee for standard UK cards.

Do booking systems take a commission on each booking?

Most of the providers we checked charge a subscription and leave card fees to the payment provider. The commissions we found were marketplace fees: Fresha charges a 20% one-time commission, with a minimum of £4, on brand-new clients who find you through the Fresha marketplace, and Mindbody charges 20%, capped at 30 in local currency, on the first purchase of a new client its app brings you. BookBookNow takes no commission when clients pay into your own Stripe account on a paid plan. When we collect payments for you, the commission runs from 2% + 20p on Pro to 6.5% + 20p on Free, including Stripe's fee for standard UK cards.

Are booking software prices shown with or without VAT?

It varies. Bookwhen prints the VAT amount beside each price, Fresha says its rates are exclusive of 20% sales tax and Acuity Scheduling says its prices do not include applicable taxes. Mindbody, SimplyBook.me, Setmore, Calendly, TeamUp, Punchpass and Square Appointments did not say on the pricing pages we read, so ask them before you compare totals. BookBookNow's prices are before tax: UK businesses pay VAT at 20% on top, which a VAT-registered business can usually reclaim.

Is booking software cheaper if you pay yearly?

Usually, where it is offered. Acuity Scheduling says paying annually saves 20%, SimplyBook.me says 17%, Punchpass shows a 12% discount and Bookwhen gives 2 months free. Calendly and Setmore also show lower prices per seat or per user on yearly billing. BookBookNow's paid plans can be paid yearly, which gives you 2 months free, and you choose monthly or yearly when you sign up. Compare yearly prices only with other yearly prices.

* The commission includes Stripe's fee for standard UK cards. Stripe charges more for some cards – about +1.3% for premium and business UK cards, +1% for European cards and +1.65% for other international cards, plus 2% when Stripe converts the payment from another currency – and we add that difference at cost, shown against each payment.

Start free today.

No card needed on the Free plan. Paid plans from £12.50 a month + tax, billed yearly (£150.00 + tax a year), or £15.00 a month + tax paid monthly, with a 14-day free trial.

Start free

Prices are in GBP, before tax. Tax is added at checkout for where your business is: UK businesses pay VAT at 20%, which a VAT-registered business can usually reclaim.